M. T. Vasudevan Nair


M. T. Vasudevan Nair, one of the most respected Indian writers today, was born on 15th july 1933 in Kudallur, a small village in Palakkad district, Kerala. He rose to eminence M. T. Vasudevan Nairthrough his well-crafted novels and short stories in Malayalam whose romantic poignancy and tender portrayal of the human condition endeared the author to his readers. He captured in subtle detail the pain and anguish that marked the ebb of feudalism in Kerala in many of his novels. A master storyteller, M.T made his way up to be honored with the highest literary award the nation confers on a writer, the Jnanpith in 1995. Prior to that, he had received many awards and accolades like both state and center Sahitya Akademi Awards. He occupied and continues to occupy many important and powerful positions in various literary bodies including the presidentship of Kerala Sahitya Akademi and the chairmanship of Tunchan Memorial Trust. The Library of Congress has in its collection sixty-two books, mostly by M.T and some on him. Also, some of them are translations of his works into English.

Novelist and Film Maker M.T. Vasudevan Nair and journalist N.P. Damodaran during the shashtipoorthy celebrations of Edasseri in Ponani, in the year 1966. M.T. Vasudevan Nair has been the Editor of Mathrubhoomi Weekly for over two decades.

The essence of his work is self-suffering and its emotional intensity and rhythms of love holdm.t.vasudevan nair the readers sticking to him.The story of Koodalloor village and Bharathapuzha are the most repeated and favourite themes of M.T. Most of his stories show the wretched state of the Nair families.

'Nalukettu', 'Kaalam', 'Asuravithu', 'Manju', 'Randamoozham', 'Vilapayathra', 'Arabipponnu'(written with N.P. Muhammed), 'Pathiravum Pakal Velichavum' are his novels.
Around 18 short story collections are in his name of which the most important are 'Olavum Theeravum','Kutyedathi', 'Ninte Ormakku', 'Nashtapetta Dinangal', 'Iruttinte Aatmavu', 'Varikkuzhi', 'Dar-s-Salaam, 'Swargam Thurakkunna Samayam'.

He acted as the Chief Editor of the weekly Mathrubhumi and as the editor of the Mathrubhumi periodicals. Won the Jnanapeedam award in 1996. On the 2nd of June 1996 he was bestowed with honourary D.Lit degree by the Calicut University. 'Randamoozham' bagged the Vayalar award in 1985. 'Swargam Thurakkunna Samayam' bagged the Kerala Sahithya Academy award in 1986. 'Kalam' gained the Kendra Sahithya Academy in 1970 and 'Nalukettu' the Kerala Sahithya Academy award. M.T. also gained the Padmarajan prize for short story.

The films 'Nirmalyam', 'Bandhanam', 'Varikkuzhi', 'Manju' and 'Kadavu' were written and directed by him. Of these 'Nirmalyam' had gained the national award for best film. The other four movies bagged the state awards. Bagged the award for best screenplay writer several times.

MT was awarded the highest literary award in India, the Jnanpith in 1995. He is also the recipient of:
State Sahithya Academy and Sahithya Academy
National Award for Best Screenplay (four times)
Iruttinde Atmavu - winner of President's Silver Medal
Literary Criticism
Parinayam - Best Film - J.C. Daniel Award - 1994
Kadavu - Best Film - 1991
Oru Vadakkan Veera Gaadha - Best Film - 1989
Purushartham - Best Film - 1987
Oridathu - Best Film - 1986
Chithamparam - Best Film - 1985
Ente Mamattikuttyammakku - Best Film - 1983
Elippathayam - Best Film - 1981
Oppol - Best Film 1980
Nirmaalyam - Best Film - 1973
Olavum Theeravum - Best Film - 1970